We put together a comprehensive step-by-step list of how to apply for a Massachusetts hoisting license, complete with all the resources you need. Of course, if you have any additional questions, do not hesitate to contact us.
- Everyone who applies for a MA hoisting license must have a DOT medical card. To find a DOT medical examiner to get this medical card should look here for offices.
- Now fill out a state application. You need to fill out one application for each endorsement you are applying for (costs: $75 each endorsement). Check the test schedule first. You should receive a test date the last week of the following month. Test locations are based off the address of the employee (Milford, Devens, Amherst, Taunton, Charlestown).
- Now you need to send the application into Office of Division of Public Licensure: (address at top of application) .
- Call Cranes101 to schedule a MA license preparation course the same day you mail your application in. Do not wait to get your notification from the state, as by then it is most likely too late.
- Cranes101 holds open License Prep. Classes at our location on a Saturday once a month. Check out our Calendar for all our listings.
- Some license prep classes are also available online.
- The state will mail out the test date, location and time of the test 5 to 10 days prior to the test. This will go to your employee’s house, so make sure they do not throw any mail away.
You are required to have a hoisting license to operate any equipment that lifts over 10 ft in height, over 500 lbs in weight or over 1/4 yard of bucket capacity in Massachusetts, per the 520 CMR 6.00 law.